Friday, 1 March 2013

The Group of Seven

"Sometimes known as the Algonquin school was a group of Canadian landscape painters from 1920 to 1933.

Believing that a distinct Canadian art could be developed through direct contact with nature. 

The Group of Seven is most famous for its paintings inspired by the Canadian landscape, and initiated the first major Canadian national art movement. 

The Group was succeeded by the Canadian Group of Painters in the 1930s, which did include female members."

Originally consisting of:
  1. Franklin Carmichael 1890–1945 
  2. Lawren Harris 1885–1970 
  3. A. Y. Jackson 1882–1972 
  4. Frank Johnston 1888–1949
  5. Arthur Lismer 1885–1969 
  6. J. E. H. MacDonald 1873–1932
  7. Frederick Varley 1881–1969 




Later, A. J. Casson (1898–1992) was invited to join in 1926; Edwin Holgate (1892–1977) became a member in 1930; and LeMoine Fitzgerald (1890–1956) joined in 1932.

Two other artists commonly associated with the group are Tom Thomson (1877–1917) and Emily Carr (1871–1945).

                                                                                                                              ~ César ~

No comments:

Post a Comment